Poisoned Punch Bowl

a diary of thought.








Current
Expired

E-mail

Diaryland Info






www.poisonedpunchbowl.com
2003-06-02
7:59 p.m.


The first day the sun makes it's grand entrance and the mood was somber here. Friends on the verge of breaking up and many, many tears for the possible ending of a relationship. Popsicle and I sat and listened, consoled, heard, spoke. It's so hard to see people in pain and grief. I can hardly bear it. I just sit back and listen, Breathe it all in like something blue and slow and heavy. Offer a few words here and there to soothe and cool the heat a bit.

And then later, a check in the mail. My mother's savings account. I cried and cried in front of the mailbox because all I wanted was her here with me again. I looked down at the numbers, realized she worked her whole life for that. Her whole working life in my hands and such a small amount really. Everyday she would get up and go to a factory, kick a press and stow away a dollar or two. She's gone. My mother is gone forever. Something about that check made it all too real. Sadness came over me in waves.

So many tears today. On this, the first day of sunshine.

030529_85.html