Poisoned Punch Bowl

a diary of thought.








Current
Expired

E-mail

Diaryland Info






www.poisonedpunchbowl.com
2003-08-26
11:33 p.m.


I was headed to the magazine store the other day and when I got there, they were mysteriously closed so I decided to go for a walk. I turned down a street I had never taken before and as soon as I turned the corner, there was a baby pigeon hobbling along at my feet. I have never seen a baby pigeon in the city before. This little one couldn�t fly so I picked him up and carried him home where I kept him for a few days and tried to teach him to fly. Today I released him in the park and he was flying a lot better although he tends to go for crash landings quite often. Maybe he�s just dramatic. I can�t help but think that I happened to turn down a street I never turned down before for the sole reason of saving the baby bird. I won�t get too heavy on the happenstance issue, but it has always been a strong theme in my life.

Yesterday an old homeless man was sitting on the sidewalk holding two of the tiniest, pure white kittens in his hands. It was sort of a surreal sight to see this old black man, semi-yoga positioned on the sidewalk with two pure white kittens. It was a beautiful picture. I didn�t know what the deal was so I was sort of worried about the kitten�s welfare. I thought maybe he was trying to sell them on the street. I asked him if he would sell me the kittens and he said he wouldn�t sell them for a thousand dollars, which made me sure of the fact that he would take good care of them. He turned out to be a very sweet and dedicated man who has made a habit of rescuing kittens. I gave him $20 and told him to take good care of them and he was very appreciative. It was a little magical NYC moment.

Aside from this, NYC has really got me down lately. It is hitting me like a ton of bricks after the clean air and fierce fabulousness of Ptown. I need to either immerse myself in this city completely or grow bitter and isolated from it. Stay tuned.

030822_71.html