Poisoned Punch Bowl

a diary of thought.








Current
Expired

E-mail

Diaryland Info






www.poisonedpunchbowl.com
2003-04-15
7:33 p.m.


Walgreen�s was a spiritual experience. I had gone there to pick up some black and white photos from the one hour photo. The frosty pink lidded girl in charge of processing my photos was obviously operating in a different time zone, because I had to wait there for an additional 45 minutes which turned out to be ample time for me to psychoanalyze the need for plastic Easter Eggs and pastel colored chocolate. Normally I would have complained about the long wait, but somehow I slipped into a parallel zone that I was quite comfortable with and wanted to move into. Sometimes-usually when the lighting is bad, my mind takes on the part of an alien observer. I watch people as if I am watching invisible from the ceiling. Walgreens for me today was like National Geographic for normal people. If only I had the voice of Richard Attenborough to narrate, it would have been perfect.

People slid past me picking through giant Easter displays, casting millions of tiny fibers into the air. The people across the aisle picked through metal bins of stuffed bunnies and floated bits of dust-bunnies up into the air. If you watch the fluorescent lights, and suck in the aisles through your nostrils, you can snort Easter like cocaine in the aisle of your choice. These are the obscurely sick creative thoughts that run through your head when you have too much time on your hands in a Mission street pharmacy.

The more I observed people�s shopping patterns, the more curious I became. I saw at least 10 people approach the check-out-counter with several plastic bags of medium-sized plastic eggs. My first thought was Holy Shit That�s Alot Of Plastic. My second thought was WHY? Person after person entered the store and showed up at the counter toting bags of plastic eggs . Then I noticed the plastic grass buyers. Plastic bags full of plastic grass. Astroturf for Easter baskets- and plastic baskets at that. I thought to myself that our culture is so incredibly fucked up that I will never understand it as long as I live. This launched me into a full blown mental rant into big government, recycling, religion and consumerism which occupied me for at least ten minutes. Then my eye caught an embarrassingly goofy electronic dancing easter bunny next to an $1.99 American Flag display. I wished I had my camera because it was Adbusters material.

My eyes and mind zoned out into a package of Rayovac batteries. It was one of those instances where you completely go into an object accidentally. It just pulls you in and you zone out into it and you don�t even realize you�re in it until you reel yourself back in to consciousness. I call it brain kidnapping. An old woman came over and asked me if I had three pennies and my insides jumped. I was in a Walgreens coma and she had pulled me out. I must have scared her too, because she caught sight of my tattoos and second-guessed how much she needed three pennies. She was buying pastel colored chocolate and I started trying to find the connection between pastels and Easter. I couldn�t find anything other than the vague connection of Spring being colorful, but I rarely see pastels in nature and I have never seen a pastel animal.

All of these thoughts are an indirect result of a frosty pink lidded girl who didn�t know how to process black and white film.

tonyc.html